2013 AS Istanbul bigThe 22nd Annual Session of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly was held in Istanbul, Turkey from 29 June to 3 July 2013.

The Turkish Grand National Assembly hosted the annual gathering, which took place at the Lutfi Kirdar International Convention and Exhibition Center in Istanbul.

The session's Helsinki +40 theme underlined the Assembly's support for the OSCE Ministerial Council decision in Dublin to launch a set of objectives aimed at strengthening the OSCE towards 2015, the 40th anniversary of the Helsinki Final Act.

The debates and votes of the Assembly during the session culminated in passage of the 2013 Istanbul Declaration to help shape OSCE and national policy. Members from 57 OSCE participating States also elected Montenegrin Speaker of Parliament Ranko Krivokapic as its new Assembly president, as well as six new vice-presidents, nine committee officers and re-elected Roberto Battelli (Slovenia) as treasurer.

2012 AS Monaco bigThe Parliament of the Principality of Monaco hosted the 21st Annual Session of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly from 5 to 9 July 2012, under the theme "The OSCE: Region of Change."

The session ended with the adoption of the Monaco Declaration and Resolutions and the election of the Bureau, including a new President, Riccardo Migliori (Italy).



2011 AS Belgrade bigThe 20th Annual Session of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly was held from 6 to 10 July 2011 in Belgrade, Serbia, under the general theme of "Strengthening the OSCE's Effectiveness and Efficiency -- A new start after the Astana Summit." It concluded with the elections of Assembly Officers and the adoption of the Belgrade Declaration, available in all six official langauges.

More than 230 parliamentarians from 53 countries voted on 10 July to pass the Belgrade Declaration, a political document filled with recommendations for national parliaments and the Organization for Security and Co-operation Europe on economic, security and human rights issues. The document contains resolutions on issues including human rights in Belarus, cyber security, human trafficking, hunger, internet freedom, nuclear safety and organ trafficking.

“This Belgrade Declaration should remind us all that the best days of the OSCE are ahead of us,” said President Petros Efthymiou (Greece). “Since our beginning our region has constantly changed, and now it is imperative for the OSCE to change as well. We look forward to governments, parliaments and the OSCE implementing these recommendations.”

2010 AS Oslo bigUnder the general theme of “Rule of Law: Combating Transnational Crime and Corruption,” the OSCE PA’s 19th Annual Session took place from 6 to 10 July in Oslo. Hosted by the Parliament of Norway, the Storting, the Annual Session debated resolutions dealing with various dimensions of the theme, as well as 35 supplementary items covering a wide range of topics. Around 250 parliamentarians participated in the meeting.

At the closing plenary, the Assembly adopted the Oslo Declaration containing resolutions ranging from issues such as the situation in Kyrgyzstan to the Parliamentary Assembly’s involvement in the Corfu process, the peace process in the Middle East, nuclear security, cybercrime, the situation in the Arctic, the right of return of internally displaced persons, investigative journalism, and the death penalty.

The Session ended with the election of Petros Efthymiou (Greece) as the Assembly’s new President. Mr. Efthymiou, a former Vice-President of the Assembly, succeeds Joao Soares (Portugal) who had served as President for two one-year terms. The Assembly also elected three new Vice-Presidents: Riccardo Migliori (Italy), Alexander Kozlovskiy (Russia) and Oleh Bilorus (Ukraine), while Isabel Pozuelo (Spain) was re-elected.

2009 AS Vilnius bigThe 18th Annual Session of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly was held on the premises of the Lithuanian Parliament in Vilnius from 29 June to 3 July. The resulting Vilnius Declaration, which represents the collective voice of the OSCE’s parliamentary dimension, outlines a set of policy recommendations to the governments of the OSCE participating States.

The Declaration, voted on by 213 parliamentarians from 50 OSCE countries, contains the 28 adopted resolutions. Among them are resolutions on strengthening the OSCE, election observation, food security in the OSCE area, the world financial crisis and the social consequences of that crisis, Iran, Afghanistan, human rights and civil liberties, arms control and disarmament in Europe, labour migration in Central Asia, energy security, climate change, water management, freedom of expression on the Internet, and a moratorium on the death penalty.