The three General Committees correspond to the three main sections of the Helsinki Final Act: the General Committee on Political Affairs and Security; the General Committee on Economic Affairs, Science, Technology and Environment; and the General Committee on Democracy, Human Rights and Humanitarian Questions.


The First General Committee focuses on the politico-military aspects of security, principles guiding relations among participating States, as well as military confidence-building measures.

The Second General Committee examines economic and environmental security threats, as well as exploring opportunities for co-operation within these and related fields.

The Third General Committee addresses humanitarian and human rights-related threats to security, serving as a forum for examining the potential for co-operation within these fields.